2019 ALA Youth Media Awards

The 2019 American Library Association’s Youth Media Awards will be held on January 28th, 2019, 8:00am (PT) at the Washington State Convention Center. Fans can follow 2019 results in real-time via live webcast [http://ala.unikron.com/ ], or follow hashtag #alayma. Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, the ALA Youth Media Awards, including the prestigious Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, and Coretta Scott King Book Awards, guide parents, educators, librarians, and others in selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by committees composed of librarians and other literature and media experts, the awards encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media.

Front-runners for the Newbery Award are:

Louisiana’s Way Home
by DiCamillo, Kate – Candlewick Press (MA), 2018
Dewey: FIC



by Gratz, Alan – Scholastic Press, 2018
Dewey: FIC



Darius the Great Is Not Okay
by Khorram, Adib – Dial Books, 2018
Dewey: FIC



Amal Unbound
by Saeed, Aisha – Mrs. Nelson’s Book Company, 2018
Dewey: FIC



Hey, Kiddo (National Book Award Finalist)
by Krosoczka, Jarrett J – Graphix, 2018
Dewey: B




#alamidwinter #alamidwinter2019 #americanlibraryassociation #caldecott #newbery http://www.ala.org/

Back to blog